Paulo Fonseca ‘advanced Newcastle talks’ as Dembele seeks Toon transfer, Lukaku injury BLOW, Haaland to Chelsea latest


The European Super League initiative has been dealt with another blow as 16 EU countries have rejected it.

Back in April, 12 clubs signed up to the controversial breakaway competition that sparked a furious reaction by players, legends, fans, pundits, football governing bodies and politicians.

Among the ESL founders were six Premier League teams, Manchester United, Manchester City, Arsenal, Liverpool, Chelsea and Tottenham.

The ferocious backlash forced the big six, as well as AC Milan, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus and Real Madrid to pull back.

However, Real, Barca and Juve refuse to admit defeat and are still pushing for this unpopular project.

Los Blancos’ president Florentino Perez is the main driving force behind the three rebels’ effort to revive the initiative.

According to AP, though 16 out of 27 EU countries, including Spain and Italy, have pulled the breaks on the initiative.

Germany is also expected to submit a statement to the European Court of Justice.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *