Lami maintains lead |

The Digicel Futsal League Southern Zone resumed last night (Wednesday) at the FMF Gymnasium in Suva.

In the first match, Rewa came from behind to beat neighbors Tailevu Naitasiri 6-3.

Tailevu Naitasiri took an early lead with two goals from Ashneel Prashant Chand in the 2nd and 5th minute of play while two goals from Setareki Hughes and Jonetani Buksh found the equalizer in 10 minutes.

The Delta Tigers kept intensity in the game which saw Gibson Haluanga extending Rewa’s lead in the 13th minute which was cut short by Chand in the 14th minute leveling the score 3-3.

Rewa came firing in the opening minutes of the second spell with Hughes scoring his second goal before young Alma Naituku added two goals to put Rewa in fourth place in the points table with 15 points.

Tailevu Naitasiri remains in the second spot with 17 points.

Rewa: Anish Khem, Abhishek Deo, Gibson Hulaunga, Setareki Hughes, Jonetani Buksh, Alma Naituku.

Tailevu Naitasiri: Anas Nabi, Kavinesh Lal, Niraj Kumar, Ashneel P Chand, Junaid Ali, Kelvin Kishore, Arvind Chand, Prashant Chand, Nitesh Chandra.

The second match saw points table leaders Lami side maintain its lead beating Navua 4-3.

Lami made their own goal through midfielder Jasnit Vikash in the opening minute of the match which gave Navua an advantage.

Navua added their first goal of the match through James Vishaal but Nemesh Ram helped Lami pull a goal.

Navua trailed by 2-1 at the breather.

Navua maintain their lead with a goal through experienced Alfred Ali in the 26th minute while midfielder Masooq Ilyaz slotted a smooth kick to pull Lami for their second goal.

It was in the 36th and 39th minute of the match when Nickil Chand and defender Illiyaz saved Lami with a goal each.

Lami maintains their lead in the Southern zone futsal league by 20 points while Navua is in fifth place with 13 points.

Navua: Thakur Narayan, Alfred Ali, Ashneel Chand, Anish Kumar, Shalvesh Singh, Saimon Lal, James Vishal, Vikash Reddy, Dorson Reddy, Shavindra Nath, Reginald Singh, Krishneel Sharma.

Lami: Kelvin Sen, Mashooq Ilyaz, Nemesh Ram, Navinesh Kumar, Amit Kumar, Nikil Chand, Jashnit Vikash, Ravneel Pal, Manasa Levaci, Isikeli Ratucava, Kalisito Veikoka, Emori Raqata.

In another match, Suva defeated Nasinu 3-0 to climb up to the third spot with 16 points while Nasinu sits second last on the points table with 12 points.

Bruce Hughes scored the opener for the Suva side in the 9th minute while Vineet Nadan extend the lead for the Capital City side in the 17th minute.

An experience Nasinu side gave its best to come back in the game in the second half but Suva kept its rhythm which saw Nasinu goalkeeper Epeli Suibuka creating a foul outside his box giving away Suva a penalty.

Debutant Ayush Kumar took the spot-kick which caught Suibuka napping and giving Suva a 3-0 win.

Suva: Shameet Kumar, Akitesh Kumar, Deepal Singh, Krishneel Singh, Shivnal Prasad, Vineet Nadan, Ayush Kumar, Kaliova Tivulu, Bruce Hughes, Shidhart Kumar

Nasinu: Epeli Suibuka, Nitan Kumar, Sandeep Nair, Sharaf Buksh, Joseph Mishra, Ashok Kumar, Haritesh Khushal, Jagindar Singh, Jalindar Singh, Sheif Sultan, Prashant Prasad.

The next round will see Suva play Navua, Rewa will take on Lami and Northland Tailevu will face Nasinu.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *