Is New Zealand vs Australia on TV today? T20 World Cup final start time, channel and how to watch

It’s not the T20 World Cup final that we expected, but New Zealand face Australia in what promises to be another thrilling match in Dubai.

After 44 matches we are left with two teams, with the Black Caps upsetting England by five wickets in the semi-finals behind Daryl Mitchell’s unbeaten 72, while Australia stormed back from a precarious position to knock off Pakistan by five wickets as Matthew Wade smashed 41 from just 17 balls to see them home with an over to spare.

Both teams have match-winners running all the way down their line-ups and whoever emerges victorious will break their duck in this competition in its seventh edition. It is the Black Caps’ first final appearance, while Australia return to the showpiece match-up 11 years on from defeat to England in Bridgetown.

The toss appears to be more crucial than ever in deciding the outcome of T20i matches, while four of the six finals to date have been won by chasing teams.

Here is everything you need to know about the match.

When is the match?

New Zealand vs Australia takes place on Sunday 14 November 2021 to conclude an explosive tournament in the UAE.

The final will begin at 2pm UK time.

How to watch it

New Zealand vs Australia will be shown live on Sky Sports Cricket, Main Event or online via the Sky Go app, tune into the coverage from 1pm.

You can add individual channels such as Sky Sports Cricket for just £18 per month combined or pick up the complete sports package for just £25 per month.

If you’re not a Sky customer you can grab a NOWTV Day Pass here for £9.99 or a Monthly Membership for £33.99, all without needing a contract. NOW can be streamed through a computer or apps found on most smart TVs, phones and consoles.

We may earn commission from some of the links in this article, but we never allow this to influence our content.

Team news

Devon Conway is out for the Black Caps after breaking his hand punching his bat in frustration during the semi-final. That means wicketkeeper Tim Seifert should step in, although allrounder Mark Chapman is another option with Glenn Phillips able to deputise behind the stumps.

Australia are expected to name an unchanged side.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson (injured, replaced by Adam Milne on October 26), Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (vc), Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade (wk), David Warner, Adam Zampa

Confirmed line-ups

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Kane Williamson, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Tim Seifert, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult

Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazelwood


Via Betfair

New Zealand: 5/4

Australia: 8/13


Like most of this tournament, the outcome here may come down to who wins the toss with both sides revelling in their roles as chasers in the semi-finals. We’ll lean towards Australia to get it done in a nail-biter with just enough ammunition with the ball to limit the Black Caps before using their swashbuckling batting line-up to reach the target.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *