How can Bangladesh qualify for T20 World Cup Super 12 cricket and which group would they be in?

BANGLADESH entered this year’s T20 World Cup hoping for a breakthrough campaign.

But they may yet fail even to qualify for the Super 12.

Bangladesh have work to do to reach the Super 12


Bangladesh have work to do to reach the Super 12Credit: AFP

The Tigers started their World Cup with a shock defeat to Scotland, which has left them with work to do to progress to the latter stages of the tournament.

Part of that work was done with a 26-run victory over hosts Oman, but they’ll need a comprehensive win over Papua New Guinea today to keep their fate in their hands.

How can Bangladesh qualify for the T20 World Cup Super 12?

Bangladesh will qualify for the Super 12 regardless of other results if they beat Papua New Guinea by 15 runs or chase their total in 18 overs.

Should they fail to do that, they will have to wait on the result between Scotland and Oman.

If Bangladesh beat Papua New Guinea and Oman fail to beat Scotland then Bangladesh will qualify.

Should both Bangladesh and Oman win, qualification will come down to net run rate between those two sides and Scotland.

Who will Bangladesh play if they qualify for the Super 12?

The ICC’s original press release said Bangladesh would go into Group 2 with sub-continent rivals India and Pakistan, regardless of where they finished in the first round.

However, the ICC announced a last minute rule change, stipulating that Bangladesh and the other qualifiers will be allocated to groups based on their position in the first round.

That means that if Scotland beat Oman, Bangladesh will end up in Group 1.

And if Sri Lanka top Group A in the first round then that will set up a group of death in which the Sri Lankans and Bangladeshis would face each other, England, South Africa, West Indies and Australia.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *