Full slate of MLR preseason action this weekend

With only two weekends left before the start of the regular season it’s crunch time in the Major League Rugby preseason. All 12 teams will take to the field this coming weekend with seven games lined up across Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.

Round two of the ‘Battle of New England’ starts things off as the Free Jacks take on the Independents in Weymouth. Moved outdoors this past weekend, this time the match will be played under the all-weather bubble with all available spaces for spectators already claimed. Kickoff is set for 8:30pm local time.

Another indoor match will be at the ADPRO Field House, the training facility of the Buffalo Bills. Rugby United New York will see their first action of 2020 against the Toronto Arrows with the scrimmage scheduled for a 1pm local start. Last year’s planned contest between the two turned into an intrasquad match for the Arrows after an untimely bus crash.

Austin were the other side who had this past weekend off. They have put together an all-day event at Burr Field dubbed ‘Australia Day’ to raise funds to help fight the wildfires rampant in the country. Three club matches between the Austin Blacks and Austin Huns, a local high school game, and a college match will precede the main event between the Herd and the Colorado Raptors. The MLR game starts at 4pm local with a $10 entry fee covering the full day.

The SaberCats came up short at in an entertaining match against the Tasman Mako at AVEVA Stadium. They will host the Gold in Houston on Saturday evening. NOLA held their intrasquad ‘Gold vs White’ match this past weekend. Kickoff is at 7pm local with tickets available for purchase online.

Sunday starts in San Diego where the Legion will play their first MLR opposition of the year. They host the Utah Warriors at Little Q Field at 2pm local, with all proceeds from the $5 entry fee going to local club side OMBAC. The Legion played OMBAC and Life West last weekend while the Warriors return from a training camp in Las Vegas.

Also back from Vegas are Rugby ATL, who head to Virginia on Sunday for an indoor game against Old Glory DC. Their hosts are coming off a blowout win over Navy. The St. James will again be the venue, with limited tickets available online. Game time is 6pm local.

Closing out the weekend on Sunday evening is an anticipated Champion vs Champion match between the Seattle Seawolves and Tasman Mako. The latter started their American tour with a win over Houston with the Seawolves shutting out the Crimson Tide last Thursday. Kickoff at Starfire Stadium is at 7:30pm local with tickets available online.

At the time of writing broadcast information is not available for any matches.

FRIDAY, JANUARY 24
17:30 PT / 20:30 ET – Free Jacks vs Independents – Union Point Sports Complex, Weymouth

SATURDAY, JANUARY 25
10:00 PT / 13:00 ET – Rugby United New York vs Toronto Arrows – ADPRO Field House, Buffalo
14:00 PT / 17:00 ET – Austin Herd vs Colorado Raptors – Burr Field, Austin
17:00 PT / 20:00 ET – Houston SaberCats vs NOLA Gold – AVEVA Stadium, Houston

SUNDAY, JANUARY 26
14:00 PT / 17:00 ET – San Diego Legion vs Utah Warriors – Little Q Field, San Diego
15:00 PT / 18:00 ET – Old Glory DC vs Rugby ATL – The St. James, Springfield
19:30 PT / 22:30 ET – Seattle Seawolves vs Tasman Mako – Starfire Stadium, Tukwila

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *